LC 2662 2013 Regular Session 11/2/12 (GMZ/ps)

DRAFT

SUMMARY

Prescribes process for adjudicating reapportionment of congressional districts.

Forms panel of judges to decide upon reapportionment in event that Legislative Assembly fails to enact reapportionment or upon petition challenging reapportionment enacted by Legislative Assembly.

Allows appeal to Supreme Court.

1

15

18

A BILL FOR AN ACT

- 2 Relating to reapportionment of congressional districts.
- 3 Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
- SECTION 1. Section 2 of this 2013 Act is added to and made a part of ORS 188.010 to 188.295.
- 6 SECTION 2. (1) In the year following the federal decennial census,
- 7 jurisdiction is vested in a panel of judges to decide upon a reappor-
- 8 tionment of congressional districts:
- 9 (a) Upon the petition of any elector filed with the panel on or before
- 10 August 15 challenging a reapportionment of congressional districts
- 11 enacted by the Legislative Assembly; or
- 12 (b) In the event the Legislative Assembly fails to enact a reappor-
- 13 tionment of congressional districts by the date of adjournment sine
- 14 die of that year's Legislative Assembly.
 - (2) The panel of judges shall consist of seven members as follows:
- 16 (a) Five circuit court judges selected at random, one representing 17 each congressional district;
 - (b) The Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals; and

- (c) The presiding judge of the Circuit Court of Marion County.
- (3) The panel of judges shall decide upon a reapportionment of congressional districts on or before September 30. A reapportionment decided upon by the panel may be appealed only by filing a notice of appeal with the Supreme Court on or before October 15. The Supreme Court shall review and decide upon a final reapportionment on or before November 15.
- (4) The presiding judge of the Circuit Court of Marion County shall preside over the panel of judges and make all rulings on procedural and evidentiary matters.
- (5) The venue for a proceeding by a panel of judges under this section lies in Marion County.