Oregon Health Authority Revised Model State Vital Statistics Act and Regulations

HB 2093

Concept: This model law reorganizes vital records law and strengthens the security of vital records systems. Definitions are added or clarified and sections are organized to assist use by the public. This is a model law, not a uniform law, and Oregon may select or modify sections to meet state needs.

Need for Policy Change: The last model law revision was 1992. Expectations and needs have changed in the last 20 years including security (physical and technological), parentage, and privacy. Oregon has adopted several provisions that partially meet current needs, but statutes are incomplete and the public may find it difficult to understand the organization and interaction of the laws.

Facts: Vital records present both national and state interests in security and public health. Birth records are often used to establish or verify citizenship. Restricted access, secure electronic systems, and clear history of changes (amendments) are needed to continue confidence and usefulness of certifications of birth.

- Death registration will be strengthened through;
 - Requiring facilities with ten or more deaths to use the electronic reporting system; fully electronic records are registered within 6 days compared to 29 days for records that are either fully paper or a hybrid of electronic and paper.
 - Allowing death records to be certified by the decedent's primary medical care provider for Oregonians receiving medical care in Washington, Idaho, or California. This provides the best cause of death and other significant conditions information for public health use.
- Security will be strengthened by:
 - Limiting all certified copies of vital records for legal use to those printed on special paper with overt, covert, and forensic features to deter altering, counterfeiting or duplicating. This will require Oregon heirloom certificates to be changed to commemorative only since security paper is not used and the heirloom certificate would be relatively easy to counterfeit.
- Other provisions needed to streamline the law:



O Changing the field that indicates sex on the birth certificate can be done based on a court order that person has undergone necessary course of treatment to transition permanently from one sex to the other rather than requiring surgical procedure.

Contact: Katy King, PHD Government Relations Manager 971-673-1265 Jennifer Woodward, State Registrar 971-673-1185

