## State Comparison: Criminal Liability for Buyers of Sex With Minors

State	Trafficking	CSEC could	Highest Offense Level	Felony penalty applies
	Law could	be applied	and Penalty	to all offenses involving
	be applied	to buyers	(max. sentence and fine for first	a minor victim
	to buyers <sup>1</sup>	-	offense)	
<u>Alabama</u>	No*	No	Age-neutral solicitation law	<u>n/a</u>
			<u>Class A misdemeanor</u>	
			<u>(max. 1yr, \$6k)</u>	
Alaska	No	Yes	Class C felony (max. 5yrs, \$50k)	Yes
Arizona	No*	Yes	Class 2 felony	No <sup>2</sup>
			(max. 21-27yrs, \$150k)	
Arkansas	No*	Yes	Class A felony (max. 30 yrs, \$15k)	Yes
California	No	No	Age-neutral acquiring prostitute	Age-neutral
			felony (max. 3yrs, \$10k)	
Colorado	No	Yes	Class 3 felony (max. 12yrs, \$750k)	Yes
Connecticut	No	Yes	Class D felony (max. 5yrs, \$5k)	No (16)
Delaware	Yes	No	Class C felony (max. 15yrs)	Yes
DC	No*	Yes	Max. 20yrs, \$20k	Yes
Florida	No	Yes	2 <sup>nd</sup> degree felony	No (16)
			(max. 15yrs, \$10K)	
Georgia	No*	Yes	Felony (max. 20yrs, \$10k)	Yes
<u>Hawaii</u>	<u>n/a</u>	<u>No</u>	NOTE: SB 192 (Makes soliciting	(yes, if enacted)
			sex with minor a felony) passed	
			the legislature but has not been	
			signed into law yet.	
Idaho	No	Yes	Enacted Senate Bill 1060:	Yes
			Felony (2 yrs-life, \$50k)	
Illinois	No*	Yes	Class 3 felony (max. 5yrs, \$25k)	Yes
Indiana	Yes	No	Class C felony (max. 8yrs, \$10k)	Yes
lowa	Yes	Yes	Class C felony (max. 10yrs, \$10k)	Yes
Kansas	No*	Yes	(Enacted House Bill 2034)	Yes
			Under 14: felony (25–life, \$500k)	
			14-17 years old: 31–34 months	
<u>Kentucky</u>	<u>No*</u>	<u>Yes</u>	<u>Class A misdemeanor</u>	<u>n/a</u>
			<u>(max. 1yr, \$500)</u>	
Louisiana	Yes	Yes	Felony (max. 50yrs, \$50k)	Yes
Maine	n/a	Yes	Class D crime (max. 1yr, \$2k)	Yes
			If knows <18, Class C	
			(max. 5yrs, \$5k)	
Maryland	No	Yes	Felony (max. 10yrs, \$25k)	Yes

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Evaluations of state laws are based on legislation enacted as of May 7, 2013. Only trafficking laws that clearly apply to buyers have been included. Responses with an asterisk (\*) indicate that the sex trafficking law may apply to buyers based on federal precedent.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> While the law applies to all offenses involving a minor victim, buyers face a substantially lower penalty for engaging in prostitution with a minor aged 15-17, unless the prosecution can prove that the buyer knew the minor's age.

## State Comparison: Criminal Liability for Buyers of Sex With Minors

Massachusetts	Yes	Yes	Felony (max. life, \$25k)	Yes
<u>Michigan</u>	<u>No*</u>	<u>No</u>	<u>Age-neutral prostitution law</u> Misdemeanor (93 days, \$500)	<u>n/a</u>
Minnesota	No	Yes	Felony (max. 20yrs, \$40k)	Yes
Mississippi	Yes	No	Felony (max. 30yrs, \$10k)	Yes
Missouri	Yes	Yes	Felony (max. life, \$250k)	Yes
Montana	No*	Yes	Felony (max. 100yrs, \$50k)	Yes (Enacted House Bill 478)
Nebraska	Yes	Yes	Class III felony (max. 20yrs, \$25k)	Yes
Nevada	No	Yes	Category E felony (max. 4yrs or probation, \$5K)	Yes
<u>New Hampshire</u>	<u>No*</u>	<u>No</u>	<u>Age-netural prostitution law</u> <u>Class B misdemeanor</u> (fine only, max \$1.2k)	<u>n/a</u>
New Jersey	No*	Yes	3 <sup>rd</sup> degree crime (max. 5yrs, \$15k)	Yes
New Mexico	No*	Yes	2 <sup>nd</sup> degree felony (max. 9yrs, \$10k)	No (13-16)
New York	No	Yes	Class A misdemeanor, if 14-18 (max. 1yr, \$1k) Class E felony, if under 14 (max. 4yrs, \$5k) Class D felony, if under 11 (max. 7yrs, \$5k)	No (under 14)
North Carolina	No*	Yes	Class F felony (max. 16mo, discretionary fine)	Yes
<u>North Dakota</u>	<u>No*</u>	<u>No</u>	Age-netural patronizing law Class B misdemeanor (max. 30 days, \$1k)	<u>n/a</u>
Ohio	No	Yes	Felony of the 3 <sup>rd</sup> degree (max. 36mo, \$10k)	Yes
Oklahoma	Yes	Yes	Felony (min. 10yrs, max. \$20k)	Yes
<u>Oregon</u>	<u>No</u>	Yes	<u>Class A misdemeanor (max. 1yr,</u> <u>\$10k)</u>	<u>n/a</u>
Pennsylvania	No*	Yes	3 <sup>rd</sup> degree felony (max. 7yrs, \$15k)	Yes
Rhode Island	Yes	Yes	Felony (max. 40yrs, \$40k)	Yes
South Carolina	No*	Yes	Class E or F felony (max. 5-10yrs, \$5k)	Yes
<u>South Dakota</u>	<u>No*</u>	<u>No</u>	<u>Age-neutral patronizing law</u> <u>Class 1 misdemeanor (1yr, \$2k)</u>	<u>n/a</u>
Tennessee	No*	Yes	Class E felony (max. 6yrs, \$3k)	Yes
Texas	Yes	Yes	Felony of the 1 <sup>st</sup> degree (max. 99yrs, \$10k)	Yes
Utah	No*	Yes	Enacted House Bill 163 3 <sup>rd</sup> degree felony (max. 5yrs, \$5k)	Yes

## State Comparison: Criminal Liability for Buyers of Sex With Minors

Vermont	Yes	Yes	Felony (max. 5yrs, \$100k)	Yes
Virginia	n/a	No	Enacted House Bill 1066 Class 5 or 6 felony (max. 10yrs, \$2.5k)	Yes
Washington	No*	Yes	Class B felony (max. 10yrs, \$20k)	Yes
West Virginia	No*	Yes	Felony (max. 10yrs, \$5k)	Yes
Wisconsin	No*	Yes	Class D felony (max. 25yrs, \$100k)	Yes
Wyoming	n/a	No	Enacted House Bill 133 Felony (max. 3yrs, \$5k)	Yes
TOTALS:	12	36	Felony: 43 Misdemeanor: 8 (2 CSEC)	37

