Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Public Utility Commission

APPOINTEE: John Savage of Salem; Reappointment

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 756.014

TERM: Savage: Four-year term; April 1, 2013 – March 31, 2017

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 756.014

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Three members; removable for cause by the Governor:
- No more than two from the same political party (BLOOM R, ACKERMAN– D, SAVAGE D)
- Members, members' spouses and minor children are prohibited from holding interest subject to commission regulation if in this state, and holding interest in entity regulated by the commission
- Governor appoints the chair

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 756.036

- Establishing fair and reasonable utility rates, balancing the interests of the utility investor and the consumer
- Represent consumers and public on rates, valuations and services
- Enforce utility laws
- Investigate utility management
- Consent to abandoning services
- Adopt rules and appoint or contract for staff
- Establish benchmark for basic telephone service, minimum service quality standards
- Submit annual telecommunications status report to the Governor and Legislative Assembly
- Establish a task force to advise the commission on utility pole attachment issues
- Establish and implement competitively neutral and nondiscriminatory universal fund
- Establish basic telephone service price

Revised April 11, 2013 Erin Seiler

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Public Utility Commission

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 756.014

Members: Min: 3 Max: 3

Term Length: 4 years Limit: None
Senate confirmation required? Yes

Paid Position: Yes

Policy Area: Unknown

Board Contact: Becky Beier

550 Capitol Street NE, Suite 215

Salem, OR 97308-2148

503-378-6611

puc.commission@state.or.us / b

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Susan K Ackerman, Chair

Democrat; CHAIR

Term(s): 04-01-2012 - 03-13-2016

03-01-2010 - 03-31-2012

Stephen M Bloom

Republican

Term(s): 12-01-2011 - 11-30-2015

Position Number: 2

Position Number: 3

John F Savage

Democrat

Term(s): 04-01-2013 - 03-31-2017

04-01-2009 - 03-31-2013 04-01-2005 - 03-31-2009 09-01-2003 - 03-31-2005 Position Number: 1

John F Savage

Democrat

Term(s): 04-01-2013 - 03-31-2017

04-01-2009 - 03-31-2013 04-01-2005 - 03-31-2009 09-01-2003 - 03-31-2005 Position Number: 1

Printed Date: 3/21/2013 Page 1 of 1