Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Library, Trustees of the State

APPOINTEE: Ismoon Hunter-Morton of Portland; New appointment replacing Applegate

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 357.010

TERM: Hunter-Morton: Four-year term: July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2017

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Not required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 357.010

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

• Seven members; eligible for reappointment to one additional term (BELL, BONEBRAKE, BURKHOLDER, HALL, HATHAWAY-MARXER, **HUNTER-MORTON**, MIAO)

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 357.010 - 357.040

- Appoint State Librarian, fix compensation except as otherwise provided by law
- Elect chair
- Formulate general policies for State Library; adopt rules; formulate long-range plans for statewide development and coordination of library service
- Review and approve budget for State Library
- Advise Governor and Legislative Assembly on new programs or legislation necessary for effective library service
- Administer State Library Donation Fund
- Authorized to enter into contracts to provide, extend, improve or coordinate library service or for demonstration programs or under Interstate Library Compact
- Establish regional libraries
- Federal fund applicant
- Control real and personal property of State Library
- Participate in judicial proceedings

Revised April 11, 2013 Erin Seiler

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Library, Trustees of the State

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 357.010

Members: Min: 7 Max: 7

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Unknown

Board Contact: Marykay Dahlgreen State Library Bldg 250 Winter Street NE Salem, OR 97301 503-378-4367

marykay.dahlgreen@state.or.us

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Shannon L Applegate

Term(s): 07-01-2009 - 06-30-2013

Position Number: 7

Ebonee A Bell

Term(s): 07-01-2012 - 06-30-2016

Position Number: 4

Aletha G Bonebrake

Term(s): 07-01-2010 - 06-30-2014

Position Number: 1

Sue Burkholder

Term(s): 07-01-2009 - 06-30-2013

08-01-2005 - 06-30-2009

Position Number: 2

Sam Hall

Term(s): 07-01-2012 - 06-30-2016

07-01-2008 - 06-30-2012

Position Number: 3

Susan J Hathaway-Marxer

Term(s): 10-01-2011 - 06-30-2015

Position Number: 5

Ismoon M Hunter-Morton

Term(s): 07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017

Position Number: 7

Raymond M Miao

Term(s): 03-01-2012 - 06-30-2014

Position Number: 6

Printed Date: 3/21/2013 Page 1 of 1