

Oregon Advocacy Commissions Office

"Advocating Equality and Diversity" 1819 SW 5th Ave., Portland, OR 97201 O 503.302.9725/F 503.473.8519

Email: oaco.mail@state.or.us

Testimony in support of HB 2661A Joint Committee on Public Safety

Co-Chairs Winters and Williamson, Senators Devlin, Whitsett, and Reps. Barker and Hanna:

The Chairs of the Oregon Advocacy Commissions submit this testimony in support of HB 2661A, on evaluating disparities in race and ethnicity of citizens stopped, arrested, and subjected to force by police officers.

Community safety, policing and access to justice for communities of color and women is a strategic priority of the Oregon Advocacy Commissions. This includes the overrepresentation of communities of color among arrested and incarcerated individuals, and the underrepresentation of these communities among professionals serving the public in law enforcement and related fields.

We believe study is needed to better understand the underlying causes of inequities and to inform policy and other decisions, and improve the situation for all Oregonians. The Oregon Criminal Justice Commission and the Criminal Justice Policy Research Institute at PSU are the right places for both the study and the analysis in our view. The findings of the study will fill important gaps in understanding and be helpful to the work of the Commissions and policy makers.

The Oregon Advocacy Commissions urge the legislature to support this key study.

OR Commission on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs

Stephen Ying, Chair Mari Watanabe, Vice Chair Legislative Liaisons: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder Rep. Gene Whisnant

OR Commission on Black Affairs

Isaac E. Dixon, Chair James Morris, Vice Chair Legislative Liaisons: Sen. Rod Monroe Rep. Lew Frederick

OR Commission on Hispanic Affairs

Andrea Cano, Chair Gilbert P. Carrasco, Vice Chair Legislative Liaisons: Sen. Chip Shields Rep. Chris Harker

OR Commission for Women

Stephanie Vardavas, Chair Jeanne Burch, Vice Chair Legislative Liaisons: Sen. Monnes Anderson Rep. Betty Komp

Staff

Lucy Baker, Administrator Nancy Kramer, Executive Assistant

Sincerely,

Stephen Ying, Chair, OCAPIA

Andrea Cano, Chair, OCHA

Andrea Cano

Stephanie Vardavas, Chair, OCFW

Lane Vandwas

Isaac Dixon, Chair, OCBA