



Health Licensing Agency 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320 Salem, Oregon 97301-1287 Telephone (503) 378-8667 FAX (503) 585-9114 TTY (503) 373-2114 E-Mail: <u>ohla.info@state.or.us</u> Website: <u>www.Oregon.gov/OHLA</u>

**To:** The Honorable Senator, Laurie Monnes Anderson, Chair, Senate Committee on Health Care and Human Services

From: Holly Mercer, Interim Director, Oregon Health Licensing Agency

Date: April 23, 2013

## Re: HB 2102 – Athletic Trainer Licensure

<u>What the measure would do:</u> The measure would permit an athletic trainer traveling into Oregon with an athletic team to provide athletic training services to members of the team without registering with the Oregon Board of Athletic Trainers. The measure would also narrow the current licensure exemption for elementary or secondary school teachers. The measure also includes explicit language allowing reciprocal licensure. Finally, the measure changes obsolete references to the "National Athletic Trainers Association" to the "Board of Certification."

## **Background:**

- (1) Under current law, athletic training practitioners accompanying teams traveling to Oregon for sporting events or training are not permitted to practice athletic training without first registering with the Oregon Board of Athletic Trainers. These individuals are only in the state for a limited period of time and practice only on the members of their teams. This bill would create a limited exception to allow athletic trainers traveling from outside Oregon to provide athletic training services for members of their teams for no more than 60 days in a calendar year without first registering with the Oregon Board of Athletic Trainers.
- (2) Current law includes an exemption for elementary or secondary school teachers who would otherwise be required to register as an athletic trainer as long as the teachers "do not hold themselves out to the public to be athletic trainers." Under this exemption elementary or secondary school teachers would not have to register as an athletic trainer even if they hold a national Board of Certification credential merely on the basis of their teaching status. This bill would narrow the exemption to apply only to those teachers who are acting within the scope of their duties as "teacher, coach or volunteer" and who do not "purport to be an athletic trainer."
- (3) Current law does not explicitly refer to the issuance of an Athletic Trainer license to an individual who is currently licensed in another state with licensure standards that have been determined to be comparable to Oregon's standards. A process for reciprocal licensure would ensure that individuals are not asked to duplicate requirements.

(4) Current law refers to the "National Athletic Trainers Association," a national organization that is now known as the "Board of Certification."

**Solution:** The proposed measure would allow athletic trainers traveling with a sports team to provide athletic training services to members of the team for no more than 60 days within a calendar year without the threat of violation. The measure would also require registration for elementary and secondary school teachers, coaches and volunteers, if they are offering services of an athletic trainer. Finally, the measure includes language for reciprocal licensure, and updates references to the national organization now known as the "Board of Certification."

**Support and Opposition:** The Oregon Board of Athletic Trainers supports this legislative concept. There is no known opposition.

**Fiscal Impact:** The proposed measure will likely have no fiscal impact.

**<u>Contact:</u>** Holly Mercer, Interim Director, Oregon Health Licensing Agency, e-mail: <u>holly.mercer@state.or.us</u>; telephone: (503) 373-2084