Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

**OFFICE:** Lane County Mass Transit District Board

**APPOINTEE:** Dr. Martha Reilly of Eugene; New appointment replacing Kortge

**Doris Towery of Springfield; Reappointment** 

Carl Yeh of Eugene; New appointment replacing Eyster

## **APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 267.090**

**TERM:** Reilly & Yeh- Four-year terms; March 15, 2013– March 14, 2017

Towery – Four-year term; January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2016

### ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Required.

#### STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS:

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Seven members; four year terms; serving at pleasure of Governor; one director shall be a user of transit district services; directors must reside in sub-districts; eligible for reappointment.
  - Subdistrict 1: TOWERY
  - o Subdistrict 2: **YEH**
  - Subdistrict 3: DUBICK
  - Subdistrict 4: NECKER
  - o Subdistrict 5: GILLESPIE
  - o Subdistrict 6: EVANS
  - Subdistrict 7: REILLY
- A director whose term has expired shall continue to serve until the appointment of a successor unless discharged by the Governor.

## **DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 267.150**

- Appoint general manager
- Ordinance authority
- Acquire by condemnation
- Construct and operate facilities and contract for services
- Perform duties necessary to operate mass transit system
- Provide program for transportation for disabled and physically handicapped persons
- Levy property tax
- Establish user charges, fees, and tools
- Issue general obligation revenue and refunding bonds
- Impose business, trade or occupational license fee
- Impose income tax or business tax

Revised February 28, 2013 Erin Seiler

# **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

#### **Lane Transit District Board**

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 267.090

Members: Min: 7 Max: 7

Term Length: 4 years Limit: None
Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Unknown

Board Contact: Jeanne Schapper PO Box 7070 Eugene, OR 97401 541-682-6103

jeanne.schapper@ltd.org

# **Current Appointments:**

#### Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Michael Dubick

Subdistrict 3

Term(s): 01-01-2011 - 12-31-2014

01-01-2007 - 12-31-2010

Position Number: 6

Gregory A Evans, Chair

Subdistrict 6; Mass Transit Rider

Term(s): 01-01-2011 - 12-31-2014

01-01-2007 - 12-31-2010

Position Number: 4

Michael E Eyster

Subdistrict 2

Term(s): 01-01-2009 - 12-31-2012

01-01-2005 - 12-31-2008

Position Number: 7

Gary L Gillespie

Subdistrict 5

Term(s): 01-03-2010 - 12-31-2013

Position Number: 1

Dean R Kortge

Subdistrict 7

Term(s): 01-01-2009 - 12-31-2012

01-01-2005 - 12-31-2008 02-01-1998 - 01-02-2002 Position Number: 3

Edward W Necker

Subdistrict 4; Mass Transit Rider

Term(s): 01-01-2010 - 12-31-2013

02-18-2008 - 12-31-2009

Position Number: 2

Doris G Towery, Vice-Chair

Subdistrict 1 Term(s): 01-01-2013 - 12-31-2017

01-01-2009 - 12-31-2012 10-01-2008 - 12-31-2008 Position Number: 5

Printed Date: 2/12/2013 Page 1 of 2

# **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

Policy Area: Unknown

Position Number: 5

# **Lane Transit District Board**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Doris G Towery, Vice-Chair

Subdistrict 1

Term(s): 01-01-2013 - 12-31-2017

01-01-2009 - 12-31-2012 10-01-2008 - 12-31-2008

Carl A Yeh

Subdistrict 2 Position Number: 7

Term(s): 03-15-2013 - 03-14-2017

Printed Date: 2/12/2013 Page 2 of 2