Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Port of Coos Bay, Board of Commissioners

<u>APPOINTEE:</u> Eric Farm of North Bend; New and Reappointment replacing McKeown Donna Opitz of North Bend; New and Reappointment replacing Smith

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 777.925

<u>TERM:</u> Four year terms: March 15, 2015 – June 30. 2013 July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2017

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Not required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 777.923 - 777.927

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Five commissioners (FARM, HAMPEL, KRONSTEINER, OPITZ, SCOTT)
- Electors registered in the port district and who have resided within the port for one year immediately preceding appointment; U.S. citizenry
- Removal for malfeasance after statement of charges, notice, court hearing or unexcused absence from regular or special meetings for 60 days

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 777.065 to 777.135, 777.920 to 777.953

The power and authority given to the port is vested in the board of commissioners. The duties and authorities include:

- Full control over the bays, rivers and harbors within its limits, and between its limits and the sea
- Improving bays, rivers and harbors for the width and length and to the depth the port considers necessary or convenient for the use of shipping
- May borrow money, issue and sell general obligation bonds
- Exercise such powers as is usual and customary with similar bodies
- May initiate a proposal for annexation of territory that is not within another port
- Report biennially to Legislative Assembly.

Revised February 28, 2013 Erin Seiler

Port of Coos Bay, Oregon International, Board of Commissioners of the

Agency: None Authorization: ORS 777.925 Members: Min: 5 Max: 5 Term Length: 4 years Limit: None Senate confirmation required? Yes Policy Area: Jobs/Economy

Board Contact: Jeffrey Bishop 125 Central, Suite 300 Coos Bay, OR 97420 541-267-7678

jbishop@portofcoosbay.com

Current Appointments:

Member Na	Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)		
Eric E Farm District Resident Term(s): 07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017		Position Number: 4	
	03-15-2013 - 06-30-2013		
Jerry F Hampel			
		Position Number: 5	
Term(s):	07-01-2009 - 06-30-2013 07-01-2005 - 06-30-2009		
	07-01-2005 - 06-30-2009 01-26-2004 - 06-30-2005		
	01-20-2004 - 00-30-2003		
David Kro	nsteiner		
Torm(a);	01-26-2008 - 01-25-2012	Position Number: 2	
Term(s):	01-26-2008 - 01-25-2012 01-26-2004 - 01-25-2008		
	01 20 2001 01 25 2000		
Donna L Opitz			
District Resident		Position Number: 3	
Term(s):	07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017 03-15-2013 - 06-30-2013		
	05-15-2015 - 06-30-2015		
R. Brady Scott			
		Position Number: 1	
Term(s):	01-26-2008 - 01-25-2012		
	01-26-2004 - 01-25-2008		