## Enrolled

## Senate Joint Memorial 6

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Senate Interim Committee on Veterans' Affairs)

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas the United States Department of Veterans Affairs Veterans Health Administration is charged with providing health care, including mental health care, to all eligible veterans, including women veterans; and

Whereas 25,000 women veterans from all eras of service reside in Oregon; and

Whereas more than 240,000 women veterans have served in Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom; and

Whereas the Veterans Health Administration health care system presents barriers to women's health care; and

Whereas many Oregon women veterans live in rural and remote parts of this state without reasonable access to Veterans Health Administration health care; and

Whereas no woman veteran should have to forgo the veteran's earned medical benefits because of physical or emotional barriers; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Seventy-Sixth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States of America to fund mobile health care buses for women veterans, staffed with trained physical and mental health professionals from the Veterans Health Administration, that will travel throughout this state providing health care to women veterans in their communities.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by Senate February 28, 2011
Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House May 5, 2011
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House