HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS TO SENATE BILL 68

By COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

June 6

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 6, after "461.110" insert "and section 27, chapter ____, Oregon

In line 8, after "181.497" insert "and section 12, chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate

4	Bill 408)".
5	On page 30, after line 38, insert:
6	"SECTION 36a. If Senate Bill 408 becomes law, section 12, chapter, Oregon Laws 2011
7	(Enrolled Senate Bill 408) (amending ORS 181.596), is repealed and ORS 181.596, as amended
8	by section 36 of this 2011 Act, is amended to read:
9	"181.596. (1)(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, the agency to
10	which a person reports under subsection (4) of this section shall complete a sex offender registration
11	form concerning the person when the person reports under subsection (4) of this section.
12	"(b) When a person who is under supervision reports to the agency supervising the person, the
13	supervising agency may require the person to report instead to the Department of State Police, a
l4	city police department or a county sheriff's office and provide the supervising agency with proof of
15	the completed registration.
16	"(2) Subsection (4) of this section applies to a person who is discharged, released or placed on
L7	probation:
18	"(a) By the court after being convicted in this state of a sex crime; or
19	"[(b) By the juvenile court after being found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for
20	having committed an act that if committed by an adult would constitute a sex crime;]
21	" $[(c)]$ (b) To or in this state under ORS 144.610 after being convicted in another United States
22	court of a crime that would constitute a sex crime if committed in this state[; or].
23	"[(d) To or in this state after having been found by another United States court to have committed
24	an act while the person was under 18 years of age that would constitute a sex crime if committed in
25	this state by an adult.]
26	"(3) The court shall ensure that the person completes a form that documents the person's obli-
27	gation to report under ORS 181.595 or this section. No later than three working days after the
28	person completes the form required by this subsection, the court shall ensure that the form is sent
29	to the Department of State Police.
30	"(4)(a) A person described in subsection (2) of this section shall report, in person, to the De-
31	partment of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff's office or, if the person is
32	under supervision, to the supervising agency:
33	"(A) Within 10 days following discharge, release or placement on probation;
34	"(B) Within 10 days of a change of residence;

"(C) Once each year within 10 days of the person's birth date, regardless of whether the person

35

1

Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408)".

1 changed residence;

- "(D) Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a vocation at or attends an institution of higher education; and
- "(E) Within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status at an institution of higher education.
- "[(b) If the person required to report under this subsection is a youth offender, as defined in ORS 419A.004, who is under supervision, the person shall report to the agency supervising the person.]
- "[(c)] (b) The obligation to report under this subsection terminates if the conviction or adjudication that gave rise to the obligation is reversed or vacated or if the registrant is pardoned.
 - "(5) As part of the registration and reporting requirements of this section:
 - "(a) The person required to report shall:
- "(A) Provide the information necessary to complete the sex offender registration form and sign the form as required; and
 - "(B) Submit to the requirements described in paragraph (b) of this subsection.
- "(b) The Department of State Police, the city police department, the county sheriff's office or the supervising agency:
 - "(A) Shall photograph the person when the person initially reports under this section and each time the person reports annually under this section;
 - "(B) May photograph the person or any identifying scars, marks or tattoos located on the person when the person reports under any of the circumstances described in this section; and
 - "(C) Shall fingerprint the person if the person's fingerprints are not included in the record file of the Department of State Police.
 - "SECTION 36b. If Senate Bill 408 becomes law, section 27, chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), is amended to read:
 - "Sec. 27. (1) Sections 1 and 2 [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), and the amendments to ORS 93.275, 181.589, 181.590, 181.592, 181.594, 181.595, 181.596, 181.597, 181.598, 181.599, 181.602, 181.604, 181.606, 181.820, 181.823, 181.826, 181.830, 181.875, 417.042 and 696.880 by sections 3, 4, [and] 7 to 11 and 13 to 24 [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), and section 36a of this 2011 Act become operative on January 1, 2012.
 - "(2) Sections 1 and 2 [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), and the amendments to ORS 21.110, 93.275, 181.589, 181.590, 181.592, 181.594, 181.595, 181.596, 181.597, 181.598, 181.599, 181.602, 181.604, 181.606, 181.820, 181.823, 181.826, 181.830, 181.875, 417.042 and 696.880 by sections 3 to 11 and 13 to 24 [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), and section 36a of this 2011 Act apply to persons adjudicated before, on or after the effective date of [this 2011 Act] chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408).
 - "(3) A person who is adjudicated before January 1, 2012, and, but for the amendments to ORS 181.595, 181.596 and 181.597 by sections 11[, 12] and 13, chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), and section 36a of this 2011 Act, would be required to make an initial report as a sex offender on or after January 1, 2012, shall make an initial report that complies with section 1 (6) [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), no later than the date described in section 1 (2) [of this 2011 Act], chapter ____, Oregon Laws 2011 (Enrolled Senate Bill 408), as applicable."

HA to RC to SB 68