## Enrolled

## **House Joint Memorial 8**

Ordered printed by the Speaker pursuant to House Rule 12.00A (5). Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Veterans and Emergency Services)

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas a significant percentage of servicemembers experience post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury and other service-connected medical issues because of their deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan; and

Whereas suicide among servicemembers and veterans is at an unprecedented level; and

Whereas military sexual trauma, which can result in post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, anxiety and other mental and emotional health concerns, is at an epidemic level in the Armed Forces of the United States; and

Whereas military culture discourages servicemembers and veterans from identifying their medical, emotional and psychological conditions; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Congress of the United States of America is respectfully urged to require the Armed Forces of the United States to:
- (a) Examine cultural barriers in the military that discourage servicemembers from identifying their medical, emotional, psychological and other reintegration concerns; and
- (b) Report the results of this examination to Congress, with proposed solutions that will encourage servicemembers to identify their medical, emotional, psychological and other reintegration concerns without detrimental consequences to their careers, units or families.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by House April 6, 2011
Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate May 16, 2011
Peter Courtney, President of Senate