Enrolled

House Joint Memorial 6

Ordered printed by the Speaker pursuant to House Rule 12.00A (5). Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Veterans and Emergency Services)

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas the Veterans Health Administration of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs is charged with providing health care to all eligible veterans; and

Whereas the Veterans Health Administration will pay for health care provided to veterans by providers other than the Veterans Health Administration under certain conditions; and

Whereas federal law states that a veteran who seeks emergency care at a facility not operated by the Veterans Health Administration must be transported to a Veterans Health Administration facility as soon as the veteran is stable; and

Whereas facilities not operated by the Veterans Health Administration often provide transportation for the veteran to a Veterans Health Administration facility once the veteran is stable; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Congress of the United States of America is respectfully urged to require the Veterans Health Administration to pay the transportation costs when a veteran who sought emergency care at a facility not operated by the Veterans Health Administration is transported to a Veterans Health Administration facility, including reimbursement to a facility not operated by the Veterans Health Administration if that facility provided the transportation.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by House March 29, 2011
Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate May 10, 2011
Peter Courtney, President of Senate