Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 16

Sponsored by Representative KENNEMER, Senator BOQUIST; Representatives BARKER, BOONE, ESQUIVEL, HICKS, HUFFMAN, MATTHEWS, PARRISH, WITT, Senators COURTNEY, MONNES ANDERSON, OLSEN

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was born on January 27, 1920, and died on June 20, 2009; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was the most decorated Marine pilot in history, earning 57 decorations, including two Navy Crosses, the Legion of Merit, five Distinguished Flying Crosses, 19 Air Medals and four Purple Hearts; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, flew 213 combat missions in World War II, Korea and Vietnam; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was badly burned while flying as a rescue pilot in Vietnam and retired from the Marines in 1968 after almost 28 years of service; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was in the hospital for one year being treated for his burns and received skin grafts over 35 percent of his body; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was inducted into the Oregon Military Hall of Fame in 2007; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was posthumously inducted into the Oregon Aviation Hall of Honor in 2009; and

Whereas Col. Kenneth L. Reusser, USMC, was a member of the Legion of Valor, the Golden Eagles, the Quiet Birdmen, the Columbia Aviation Association, the Marine Corps Coordinating Council, the First Baptist Church of Beaverton and several veterans' groups; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-Sixth Legislative Assembly, on behalf of all Oregonians, recognize, honor and express our gratitude to Kenneth L. Reusser for his extraordinary service and for his contributions to Oregon; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be presented to his family as an expression of our esteem, appreciation and condolences.

Adopted by House March 16, 2011
Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate April 18, 2011
Peter Courtney, President of Senate