Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 13

Sponsored by Representative MCLANE, Senators WHITSETT, BATES

Whereas settlers to the Rogue Valley started a community on the banks of the Little Butte Creek in the 1850s, along the military road from Jacksonville to Fort Klamath; and

Whereas in 1872 the Snowy Butte Mill was built, which further developed the growing settlement's reputation as the "Food Basket" for Jacksonville and Medford; and

Whereas the community's development through the first fifty years of settlement caused community leaders to incorporate the City of Eagle Point in 1911; and

Whereas the city is named for the bald eagle population that inhabited the surrounding hills; and

Whereas Eagle Point continues to be a rich agricultural community that includes the continuing operation of the Snowy Butte Mill, now the Butte Creek Mill, which is the oldest hydropower gristmill west of the Mississippi River; and

Whereas Eagle Point has a strong tradition of supporting the nation's defense, including seeing its citizens serve in World War I, World War II, the Korean Conflict, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War and the current engagements in Iraq and Afghanistan; and

Whereas for its strong support of the military, including the support of the World War II training facility, Camp White, located just outside of the city, Eagle Point has one of only three National Cemeteries in Oregon; and

Whereas Eagle Point has seen a dramatic population growth in recent years, doubling to nearly 9,000 in ten years' time, most of which is due to the development of one of Oregon's highest-rated public golf courses; and

Whereas Eagle Point continues to be a strong, supportive community powered by its citizens; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly, commemorate the City of Eagle Point on its 100th anniversary and convey our warmest regards to its residents.

Adopted by House March 29, 2011

Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House

Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House

Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 13, 2011

Peter Courtney, President of Senate