Enrolled House Bill 3658

Sponsored by Representatives HUNT, WITT, ESQUIVEL, SHEEHAN; Representatives BENTZ, BOONE, CAMERON, DEMBROW, DOHERTY, FREDERICK, GARRARD, GELSER, KENNEMER, KRIEGER, MATTHEWS, MCLANE, PARRISH, G SMITH, THATCHER

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to the development of a medal to honor Oregon military members who have fallen in the line of duty.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

<u>SECTION 1.</u> (1) The Adjutant General shall form a commission that includes the Adjutant General, two Assistant Adjutants General and two veterans' service officers.

- (2) The purpose of the commission is to develop and name a medal that will honor fallen military members for the courage and sacrifice they have made for the State of Oregon. The purpose of the medal is to honor the memory and sacrifice of military members from Oregon who were killed in action or who died as a result of wounds received in action, including action in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. The intent of the Legislative Assembly is to have the medal be awarded to the fallen service members and be presented to the next of kin of those military members.
- (3) The commission shall design the medal and suggest an appropriate name for the medal and an appropriate ceremony for presentation of the medal to the next of kin. The name of the medal may not be the same as or similar to any military medal issued by the federal government.
- (4) Upon completion of the design, the commission shall present the medal design to the Governor, as Commander in Chief of the Oregon National Guard, for the Governor's approval.
- (5) If the Governor approves, the Governor shall present the proposed medal to the Seventy-seventh Legislative Assembly for its approval.

Passed by House May 24, 2011	Received by Governor:	
	, 2011	
Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:	
	, 2011	
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House		
	John Kitzhaber, Governor	
	somi Mizmaser, dovernor	
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:	
Passed by Senate June 16, 2011	, 2011	
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	Kate Brown, Secretary of State	