House Bill 3097

Sponsored by Representative HICKS

1

4

5

8

9

11

15

16

17

18

21

23

27

28

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Requires that judicial district have one circuit court judge for every 15,000 residents within district, based on latest federal decennial census.

Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Judicial Department to pay for costs associated with new judicial positions.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT

Relating to circuit court judges; creating new provisions; amending ORS 3.012; appropriating money; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

- **SECTION 1.** ORS 3.012 is amended to read:
- 3.012. (1) The judicial districts[, the counties constituting the judicial districts and the number of circuit court judges for each judicial district] for circuit courts are as follows:
 - (a) The first judicial district consists of Jackson County [and has nine judges].
 - (b) The second judicial district consists of Lane County [and has 15 judges].
- 10 (c) The third judicial district consists of Marion County [and has 14 judges].
 - (d) The fourth judicial district consists of Multnomah County [and has 38 judges].
- 12 (e) The fifth judicial district consists of Clackamas County [and has 11 judges].
- 13 (f) The sixth judicial district consists of the counties of Morrow and Umatilla [and has five 14 judges].
 - (g) The seventh judicial district consists of the counties of Gilliam, Hood River, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler [and has four judges].
 - (h) The eighth judicial district consists of Baker County [and has one judge].
 - (i) The ninth judicial district consists of Malheur County [and has two judges].
- 19 (j) The tenth judicial district consists of the counties of Union and Wallowa [and has two 20 judges].
 - (k) The eleventh judicial district consists of Deschutes County [and has seven judges].
- 22 (L) The twelfth judicial district consists of Polk County [and has three judges].
 - (m) The thirteenth judicial district consists of Klamath County [and has five judges].
- 24 (n) The fourteenth judicial district consists of Josephine County [and has four judges].
- 25 (o) The fifteenth judicial district consists of the counties of Coos and Curry [and has six 26 judges].
 - (p) The sixteenth judicial district consists of Douglas County [and has five judges].
 - (q) The seventeenth judicial district consists of Lincoln County [and has three judges].
- 29 (r) The eighteenth judicial district consists of Clatsop County [and has three judges].
- 30 (s) The nineteenth judicial district consists of Columbia County [and has three judges].

NOTE: Matter in **boldfaced** type in an amended section is new; matter [*italic and bracketed*] is existing law to be omitted. New sections are in **boldfaced** type.

- (t) The twentieth judicial district consists of Washington County [and has 14 judges].
 - (u) The twenty-first judicial district consists of Benton County [and has three judges].
- 3 (v) The twenty-second judicial district consists of the counties of Crook and Jefferson [and has three judges].
 - (w) The twenty-third judicial district consists of Linn County [and has five judges].
- 6 (x) The twenty-fourth judicial district consists of the counties of Grant and Harney [and has one judge].
 - (y) The twenty-fifth judicial district consists of Yamhill County [and has four judges].
 - (z) The twenty-sixth judicial district consists of Lake County [and has one judge].
 - (aa) The twenty-seventh judicial district consists of Tillamook County [and has two judges].
 - (2) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, each judicial district shall have one circuit court judge for every 15,000 residents within the district, based on the latest federal decennial census. In no event may a judicial district have less than one circuit court judge, without regard to the number of residents within the district. The budget of the Judicial Department submitted to the Legislative Assembly shall reflect any increase or decrease in funds necessary to implement changes in the number of judges that result from the requirements of this subsection.
 - (3) The number of circuit court judges in the following judicial districts shall be the greater of the number of judges determined under subsection (2) of this section or:
 - (a) Four judges in the seventh judicial district;
 - (b) Two judges in the tenth judicial district;
 - (c) Six judges in the fifteenth judicial district;
 - (d) Three judges in the eighteenth judicial district;
 - (e) Three judges in the twenty-second judicial district; and
 - (f) Two judges in the twenty-seventh judicial district.
 - [(2)] (4) The Secretary of State shall designate position numbers equal to the number of judges in each of the judicial districts established by this section. The positions shall reflect any qualifications established by ORS 3.041.
 - SECTION 2. The amendments to ORS 3.012 by section 1 of this 2011 Act become operative on the first Monday in January 2013, except that the provisions for new circuit court judges are operative on the effective date of this 2011 Act for the purposes of nominating and electing new judges to assume the duties of the office on the first Monday in January 2013.
 - SECTION 3. In addition to and not in lieu of any other appropriation, there is appropriated to the Judicial Department, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2011, out of the General Fund, the amount of \$_______, which may be expended to pay the salaries and benefits for the new judicial positions created by the amendments to ORS 3.012 by section 1 of this 2011 Act, the salaries and benefits for the support staff required for those positions and the cost of equipment and furnishings necessary for those positions.
 - <u>SECTION 4.</u> This 2011 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2011 Act takes effect on its passage.