Enrolled House Bill 2213

Sponsored by Representative KOMP (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to the Commission for Women; creating new provisions; amending ORS 185.520; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 185.520 is amended to read:

185.520. (1) The membership of the Commission for Women shall be comprised of 11 members, to include two representatives from the Legislative Assembly, one appointed by the President of the Senate, one appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Nine members shall be appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate pursuant to section 4, Article III, Oregon Constitution. To the extent possible, members appointed by the Governor shall provide for representation from all areas of the state. All of the members of the commission shall be residents of this state.

(2) Members appointed by the Governor shall serve for three-year terms. Legislators shall serve two-year terms.

[(3) The Governor shall designate the chairperson of the commission to serve for a term of one year.]

(3) The commission members shall elect a chairperson and vice chairperson for terms of one year and shall determine the duties of the officers.

(4) Members shall meet at the call of the chairperson not less than three times annually.

(5) Consistent with Oregon law, the commission may receive and accept funds for purposes consistent with the creation of the commission.

<u>SECTION 2.</u> The amendments to ORS 185.520 by section 1 of this 2011 Act first apply to the selection of a chairperson or vice chairperson whose term expires or whose office is declared vacant on or after the effective date of this 2011 Act.

<u>SECTION 3.</u> This 2011 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2011 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House February 16, 2011	Received by Governor:
Ramona Kenady Line, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House	
	John Kitzhaber, Governor
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Passed by Senate May 3, 2011	
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	Kate Brown, Secretary of State