76th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2011 Regular Session STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY Senate Committee on Rules

MEASURE: SR 3 CARRIER: Sen. Atkinson

KEVENUE: NO IEvenue impact	
FISCAL: No fiscal impact	
Action:	Be Adopted
Vote:	4 - 0 - 1
Yeas:	Atkinson, Beyer, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum
Nays:	0
Exc.:	Burdick
Prepared By:	Erin Seiler, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	6/1

REVENUE: No revenue impact

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Recognizes significant figures in history of Oregon Senate and names certain Senate facilities after these distinguished individuals.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Recognition for achievements and contributions each individual made to Oregon Senate
- History of the Senate Chamber •
- Importance of establishing recognition for individuals through resolution •

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: It has been the practice of the executive and legislative branches to recognize significant figures in Oregon history by displaying portraits of former Governors, painting of murals, or by dedicating specific areas of the Capitol. Senate Resolution 3 recognizes five individuals who have served in the Oregon State Senate or contributed to the history of the Oregon State Capitol.

As the longest serving Senator in Oregon history, W.H. (Bill) Strayer, represented Baker County in the Senate from January 11, 1915 until October 18, 1946. In recognition of his service, the corridor on the second floor behind the Senate Chamber that is lined with photographs of former senators will be named the "Senator W.H. (Bill) Strayer Gallerv."

As the second longest serving Senator in Oregon history, Lenn Hannon, represented Ashland for over 29 years, serving from January 13, 1975 to January 31, 2004. During floor sessions it was common for Senator Hannon to retire to the room located immediately to the east of the Senate Chamber's north side aisle; therefore, this room will be dedicated as the "Senator Lenn Hannon Reading Room."

In 1915, just three years after women in Oregon achieved the right to vote, Kathryn Clarke won a special election to serve as the senator from Douglas County. The room on the second floor immediately behind the Senate Chamber has been a private room for members and staff to discuss issues and policy matters; therefore, this room will be dedicated as the "Senator Kathryn Clarke Cloakroom."

Known as "the man who would get things done," Senator Eugene 'Debbs' Potts served in the Oregon Senate from 1961 to 1970, the last four years as President of the Senate. During his tenure as President of the Senate, Senator Potts used the office presently used by the Secretary of the Senate; therefore, this room will be named the "Debbs Potts Conference Room."

On April 25, 1935, Willamette University law student and volunteer firefighter Floyd McMullen died while fighting the blaze that destroyed Oregon's second Capitol building. Established in 2003, the Floyd McMullen Fire Brigade has been meeting in the conference room near the Senate Chamber, in the northeast corner of the Capitol's second floor. Therefore, the conference room will be dedicated the "Floyd G. McMullen Conference Room."