76th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2011 Regular Session MEASURE: SB 53 CARRIER: Sen. Boquist

Senate Committee on General Government, Consumer and Small Business Protection

REVENUE: No revenue impact FISCAL: No fiscal impact

**Action:** Do Pass **Vote:** 5 - 0 - 0

Yeas: Bonamici, Boquist, George, Monroe, Shields

Nays: 0 Exc.: 0

**Prepared By:** Patrick Brennan, Administrator

Meeting Dates: 2/2

**WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:** Deletes obsolete references in statute governing the Department of Administrative Services' annual charitable fund drive program. Directs the Department Director to appoint a charitable fund drive committee to oversee the program. Authorizes the committee, with written approval of the Department Director, to contract with a charitable fund drive management organization.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- "Legacy issues" related to the Charitable Fund Drive
- Harmonizes statute with current practice

## **EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:** No amendment.

**BACKGROUND:** The State of Oregon Employees Charitable Fund Drive, established in 1989, is an annual, combined charitable giving campaign tailored to meet the needs and wishes of employees of the State of Oregon. The program helps state employees collectively address issues such as hunger, preservation of natural resources, discrimination, child abuse, and disease. Employees are able to support any of hundreds of nonprofit groups or issues through the Fund Drive by making a single charitable gift. The program's operating costs are paid for by umbrella groups that benefit from the annual campaigns.

The Charitable Fund Drive is coordinated by the State Employee Charitable Fund Drive Committee, which provides supervision and oversight of the annual campaign and payroll deductions made by state employees. Statutes that govern the program are outdated and do not reflect this current practice. Senate Bill 53 codifies the State Employee Charitable Fund Drive Committee to be appointed by the Director of the Department of Administrative Services. Committee members must be employees or officers of the state, and may serve up to two terms of two years each.