76th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2011 Regular Session MEASURE: HB 3418-B

STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee on Ways and Means

Carrier – House: Rep. G. Smith
Carrier – Senate: Sen. Nelson

Revenue: No revenue impact Fiscal: Fiscal statement issued

Action: Do Pass the A-Engrossed Measure as Amended and as Printed B-Engrossed

Vote: 25 - 0 - 0

<u>House</u>

Yeas: Beyer, Buckley, Cowan, Freeman, Garrard, Komp, Kotek, McLane, Nathanson, Nolan, Richardson,

G. Smith, Thatcher, Whisnant

Nays: Exc:

Senate

Yeas: Bates, Devlin, Edwards, Girod, Johnson, Monroe, Nelson, Thomsen, Verger, Whitsett, Winters

Nays: Exc:

Prepared By: John Terpening, Legislative Fiscal Office

Meeting Date: June 15, 2011

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Creates 17-member Task Force on Higher Education Student and Institutional Success (Task Force) and specifies membership. Directs Task Force to analyze best practices and models for student and institutional success, to examine barriers, study methods for acquisition of basic skills and career preparation, and identify alternative funding options. Directs Task Force to submit report to appropriate legislative committee by October 1, 2012. Sunsets on date 2013 Legislative Assembly convenes. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Proposed amendment
- Fiscal impact of the measure
- Correlation with SB 242

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: Increases membership of the task force to 17 in order to have equal number of legislators and defines institutional success.

BACKGROUND: Currently, funding allocations to institutions of higher education are not measured by student and institutional success, but by student enrollment and Full-Time Employment (FTE) numbers. House Bill 3418-A creates a Task Force to study differences between institutions and their missions, as well as college completion rates, remediation and funding models. Additionally, the Task Force will develop metrics to monitor student and institutional success and report its findings to the appropriate committee of the Legislative Assembly by October 1, 2012.