REVENUE IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

Seventy-Sixth Oregon Legislative Assembly, 2011 Regular Session Legislative Revenue Office Bill Number:HB 2712 - BRevenue Area:CFAA/Fines and FeesEconomist:Mazen MalikDate:06/27/2011

Measure Description:

Revises laws relating to offenses.

Revenue Impact (in \$Millions):

New Revenue arrangement	3 months old fee and 21 new fee 2011-13 Estimate		2013-15 Estimate	2015-17 Estimate
CFAA		\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00
Other Revenue (new and redirected)				
to CFA		\$13.81	\$12.12	\$12.91
Collection Cost (move to GF)*		(\$7.96)	(\$8.59)	(\$9.14)
Gross Revenue Increase		\$21.77	\$20.71	\$22.05

* Collection costs are moved to a general fund appropriation, which effectively means new revenue is net of those amounts.

Impact Explanation:

The introduced version of the measure was the product of the Joint Interim Committee on State Justice System Revenues. This version of the measure updates and simplifies the current statutory revenue and distribution structure related to criminal fines, assessments, and other financial penalties imposed on violations other than parking infractions but include conviction for felonies and misdemeanors. The measure does not make any change to current law misdemeanor or felony structure. The major provisions of the measure are:

1) Establishes a presumptive fine thereby eliminating the need for calculation of a foundation amount, base fine amount, and the minimum fine amount. 2) Establishes the presumptive fine by statute, applies this fine statewide, and eliminates variability in fine amounts based on the court into which a person is cited. 3) Eliminates the unitary assessment and the county assessment by consolidating them into the presumptive fine. 4) Provides for judicial discretion to reduce the presumptive fine by up to 50 percent. 5) Increases the judicial discretion in school, construction, and safety corridor zones fine to 75 percent of the presumptive fine. 6) Adds \$3 to the uniform presumptive fine amounts for state court facilities and security.

The following table compares the current law violation amounts with those in the measure:

This bill does not affect the distribution of fine revenue, which remains the same as current law. The measure eliminates the Unitary Assessment and the county assessment and replaces it with a flat fine amount, a portion of which is to be remitted to the state in lieu of the

	Current Law		HB 2712	
Violation	Presump		Presumpt	
	tive Fine	Minimum	ive Fine	Minim
Class A Violation	\$472	\$320.25	\$435	\$220
Class B Violation	\$287	\$181.50	\$260	\$130
Class C Violation	\$190	\$108.75	\$160	\$80
Class D Violation	\$142	\$72.75	\$110	\$55

Yes

🗌 No 🖂

Unitary Assessment and the county assessment. The local court portions don't seem to be affected.

Creates, Extends, or Expands Tax Expenditure:

State Capitol Building 900 Court St NE, Room 143 Salem, Oregon 97301-1347