FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

Seventy-Sixth Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2011 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Prepared by: John Terpening Reviewed by: Paul Siebert Date: 4-13-2011

Measure Description:

Allows State Fish and Wildlife Commission to impose surcharge not to exceed \$50 on persons who fail to comply with certain reporting requirements.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Summary of Expenditure Impact: See Analysis

Local Government Mandate:

This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

Analysis:

The measure allows for the Department of Fish and Wildlife to impose a maximum surcharge of \$25 for the renewal of a hunting license on any person that fails to comply with the mandatory hunting reporting requirements.

Currently, the Department has implemented mandatory hunting reporting requirements on almost all tags issued by the Department in order to effectively manage resources in various management units and accurately assessing game statistics. The Department offers both online and voice message reporting options to meet the requirements, yet compliance has been below 20% of all tags issued. Due to the low compliance rate, the Department has been forced to continue using telephonic surveys. The surcharge requirement was put in place to allow the Department to stop costly large telephonic surveys of hunters.

The Department estimates that there are approximately 275,000 individuals that hunt in Oregon. Assuming a compliance rate of 20%, under the measure's maximum allowable fee the Department would generate approximately \$5,500,000 in revenue in 2011-13. A \$10 surcharge would generate approximately \$2,200,000 in revenue in 2011-13. The Department has not determined the exact surcharge that will be assessed at this time, but assumes that compliance will increase as communication and awareness grows. The Department states that if compliance increases via the online or voice message reporting, the agency may experience cost savings by not having to conduct the telephone survey. Similar penalties exist in neighboring states. The state of Washington charges \$10, Nevada \$50, and Idaho does not allow hunters to purchase new tags if they have not complied with the reporting requirements.

Page 1 of 1 HB 2125 - A

Measure: HB 2125 - A