## 2010 Special Session FISCAL ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION Prepared by the Oregon Legislative Fiscal Office

MEASURE NUMBER: SB 1010 STATUS: A Engrossed

**SUBJECT:** Surgical Technologist Registration

**GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED:** Department of Human Services (Oregon Health Authority)

**PREPARED BY:** Kim To **REVIEWED BY:** John Britton **DATE:** February 19, 2010

		<b>2009-2011</b>		2011-2013
<b>EXPENDITURES:</b>				
Oregon Health Authority – Other Funds				
Personal Services	\$		\$	75,930
Services and Supplies	\$		\$	19,769
Total Other Funds	\$		\$	95,699
REVENUES:		<u>2009-2011</u>		<u>2011-2013</u>
Oregon Health Authority – Other Funds Registration Fees	\$_		\$_	99,000

## **POSITIONS / FTE:**

Administrative Specialist 1

1/0.80

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** On Passage

**INTERIM JOINT COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS:** The budgetary impact of this bill was not reviewed and approved by the Interim Joint Committee on Ways and Means and is not included in the omnibus budget bill to be introduced by the committee.

**LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATE:** This bill does not affect local governments' service levels or shared revenues sufficient to trigger Section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution.

ANALYSIS: Operative January 1, 2012, Senate Bill 1010 establishes practicing standards and registration requirements for surgical technologists, and direct individuals practicing as surgical technologists to obtain registration from the Oregon Health Authority. The bill prohibits employers from hiring or contracting with unregistered surgical technologist except in medically under-served communities under certain conditions. The bill contains a grandfathering clause allowing a person to be eligible for registration, without meeting all the registration criteria, if the person worked as a surgical technologist for two of the three years prior to the January 1, 2012 operative date. Operative January 1, 2013, the bill requires a surgical technologist to annually complete 15 hours of continuing education approved by a national organization approved by the Oregon Health Authority. The bill permits the Oregon Health Authority to impose a civil penalty for certain violations by health care facilities or individuals practicing as surgical technologists.

The Oregon Health Authority is required to adopt rules as necessary to carry out the requirements of this measure. Applicants are required to pay an application fee of \$110 for registration which expires two years after the date of issuance. The bill does not specify the fee amount for renewal. In its revenue calculations, the Authority assumes a renewal fee of \$110. Moneys collected from fees and civil penalties are to be deposited in the Oregon Health Authority Fund and used for the purposes of carrying out the requirements of this bill. Based on information extrapolated from the national Bureau of Labor Statistics and the National Association of Surgical Technologist, the Authority predicts 900 surgical technologist applications collected each biennium. Given these assumptions, the Authority estimates total revenue to be approximately \$99,000 each biennium.

To carry out the requirements of this measure, the Authority anticipates establishing one permanent (0.80 FTE) Administrative Specialist 1 position (\$75,930 Personal Services for the 2011-13 biennium) to administer the rules, process applications, review grandfathering requests, maintain surgical technologist staffing and registration records and handle inquiries. Services Supplies (\$19,769 for the 2011-13 biennium) includes the cost of modifying and maintaining existing information systems to accommodate the new Surgical Technicians Registry.