Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 10

Sponsored by Senators BATES, JOHNSON; Senator CARTER

Whereas one of the most enduring symbols of the State of Oregon is its exceptional 362-mile coastline, a treasure of sandy beaches, rocky headlands, tidepools and estuaries; and

Whereas the rights of all Oregonians to reach and use the ocean shore for recreation, relaxation and education were ensured through passage of the 1967 Beach Bill (chapter 601, Oregon Laws 1967); and

Whereas Dr. Robert Bacon was a tireless citizen advocate for the protection of the Oregon coast from barriers to public access and from development, and was instrumental in securing passage of the Beach Bill; and

Whereas Dr. Robert Bacon was a 1940 graduate of Hamilton College and received his doctorate from Yale University; and

Whereas Dr. Robert Bacon joined the faculty of what was then known as the University of Oregon Medical School in 1955 and remained as a professor of anatomy at the Oregon Health and Science University until his retirement in 1988; and

Whereas Dr. Robert Bacon was a resident of Gearhart for many years until his death on January 10, 2009; and

Whereas due to Dr. Robert Bacon's efforts and achievements and passage of the Beach Bill, millions of Oregonians and visitors have enjoyed the bounty and beauty of the Oregon coast and will continue to do so for generations to come; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-fifth Legislative Assembly, mourn the passing of Dr. Robert Bacon and extend our condolences to his wife, Sue, and their family, and express our sincere appreciation for his hard work and dedication to improving Oregon for all people for generations to come, in the truest spirit of citizen involvement in public affairs; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be sent to Dr. Robert Bacon's family as an expression of our esteem.

Adopted by Senate April 7, 2009
Secretary of Senate
President of Senate
Adopted by House May 19, 2009
Speaker of House