## Senate Bill 532

Sponsored by Senator BOQUIST

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8 9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23 24

2526

27

28

29

30

## **SUMMARY**

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.** 

Directs Department of Justice to distribute moneys to local governments and agencies for methamphetamine and property crime prevention.

Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Department of Justice for grants to local governments

Declares emergency, effective July 1, 2009.

## A BILL FOR AN ACT

- Relating to crime prevention; appropriating money; and declaring an emergency.
- Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
  - SECTION 1. (1) The Department of Justice shall distribute the moneys appropriated to the department under section 2 of this 2009 Act as specified in subsections (3) to (9) of this section. The department shall distribute one-half of the amount specified for each grant in subsections (3) to (9) of this section by August 1, 2009, and the other half no later than July 1, 2010.
  - (2) Each recipient of moneys distributed under subsections (3) to (9) of this section shall file a single-page performance report regarding the use of the moneys with the Department of Justice no later than July 31, 2010, and July 31, 2011. The department shall collect the reports and submit copies of the reports to an interim legislative committee dealing with the judiciary no later than August 31, 2010, and August 31, 2011.
  - (3) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the sheriffs' departments of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prevention and law enforcement activities as determined by the sheriff:
  - (a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas, Washington, Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.
    - (b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln Counties.
  - (c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco, Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.
  - (4) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the sheriffs' departments of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prevention and education activities as determined by the sheriff:
    - (a) \$100,000 to Multnomah County.
    - (b) \$50,000 each to Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas and Washington Counties.
    - (c) \$20,000 each to Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.
- (d) \$10,000 each to Douglas, Lincoln, Baker, Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco, Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman,

**NOTE:** Matter in **boldfaced** type in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted. New sections are in **boldfaced** type.

Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.

- (5) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the following cities to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prevention, education and law enforcement activities as determined by the city council upon the recommendation of the chief of police or senior law enforcement official of the city:
  - (a) \$300,000 to Portland.

1 2

- (b) \$150,000 each to Fairview, Gresham, Troutdale, Wood Village, Hermiston, Milton-Freewater, Pendleton, Albany, Harrisburg, Lebanon, Cottage Grove, Eugene, Florence, Springfield, Canby, Gladstone, Lake Oswego, Milwaukie, Oregon City, Tualatin, West Linn, Wilsonville, Beaverton, Cornelius, Forest Grove, Hillsboro, Sherwood, Tigard, Grants Pass, Ashland, Central Point, Medford, Roseburg, Newport, Keizer, Salem, Woodburn, Baker City, Bend, Redmond, Coos Bay, North Bend, McMinnville, Newberg, Klamath Falls, Prineville, St. Helens, The Dalles, Dallas, Monmouth, Ontario, Hood River, Astoria and Corvallis.
- (c) \$100,000 each to Mill City, Sweet Home, Molalla, Sandy, Lincoln City, Silverton, Stayton and Scappoose.
- (6)(a) The Department of Justice shall distribute \$75,000 to the cities listed in paragraph (b) of this subsection to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prevention, education and law enforcement activities as determined by the city council upon the recommendation of the chief of police or senior law enforcement official of the city and in coordination with the sheriff of the county in which the city is located.
- (b) The cities to which paragraph (a) of this subsection applies are Athena, Pilot Rock, Stanfield, Umatilla, Brownsville, Lyons, Creswell, Junction City, Oakridge, Veneta, Estacada, Happy Valley, Eagle Point, Jacksonville, Phoenix, Rogue River, Shady Cove, Talent, Myrtle Creek, Reedsport, Sutherlin, Winston, Toledo, Waldport, Aumsville, Gervais, Hubbard, Jefferson, Mt. Angel, Sublimity, Bandon, Coquille, Dundee, Lafayette, Sheridan, Willamina, La Grande, Union, Boardman, Irrigon, Vernonia, Enterprise, Independence, Nyssa, Vale, Tillamook, Lakeview, Madras, Burns, John Day, Brookings, Gold Beach, Seaside, Warrenton, Philomath and Monroe.
- (7) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the district attorneys of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prosecution as determined by the district attorney:
- (a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Washington, Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.
  - (b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln Counties.
- (c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco, Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.
- (8) The Department of Justice shall distribute \$300,000 to Clackamas County to be used for methamphetamine and property crime prosecution and judicial activities as determined by the board of county commissioners in consultation with the district attorney and the sheriff.
- (9) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the following counties to be used for methamphetamine treatment activities as determined by the governing body of each county:
  - (a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas, Washington,

1 Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.

- (b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln Counties.
- (c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco, Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.

SECTION 2. There is appropriated to the Department of Justice, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2009, out of the General Fund, the amount of \$36 million for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of section 1 of this 2009 Act.

SECTION 3. Moneys appropriated to the Department of Justice under section 2 of this 2009 Act may not be used by the department or recipients identified in section 1 (3) to (9) of this 2009 Act to supplant moneys currently budgeted by the department or the recipients for the purposes described in section 1 of this 2009 Act.

<u>SECTION 4.</u> This 2009 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2009 Act takes effect July 1, 2009.