MEASURE: CARRIER: SB 127 B Rep. Beyer

REVENUE: No revenue impact FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued	
Vote:	10 - 0 - 0
Yeas:	Bailey, Bentz, Berger, Boone, Edwards D., Gilman, Kahl, Schaufler, Weidner, Beyer
Nays:	0
Exc.:	0
Prepared By:	Patrick Brennan, Administrator
Meeting Dates:	4/29. 5/13

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Clarifies responsibilities for individuals to show proof of compliance with financial responsibility requirements after vehicle is involved in uninsured motor vehicle collision. Clarifies offense of failure to make future responsibility filings after an accident. Requires filing to be made within 30 days. Adds risk retention group to allowed insurers filing certificate of insurance. Eliminates required statement for vehicles not operated on public highways to obtain exemption from financial responsibility requirements.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Removes obsolete language from statute
- Liability insurance requirement for operating vehicle on Oregon highways

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: Oregon's mandatory insurance law, ORS 806.010, requires drivers to insure their vehicles. The minimum liability insurance a driver must have is bodily injury and property damage liability in the amounts of \$25,000 per person, \$50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others, and \$10,000 per crash for damage to the property of others; personal injury protection (for reasonable and necessary medical, dental and other expenses one year after a crash) in the amount of \$15,000 per person; and uninsured motorist coverage in the amounts of \$25,000 per person and \$50,000 per crash for bodily injury. Coverage must be certified each time a motor vehicle is registered. Individuals found to have driven while uninsured must file proof of financial responsibility for three years in order to retain driving privileges.