75th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY – 2009 Regular Session STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee on Ways and Means

Carrier – House: Rep. Garrard
Carrier – Senate: Sen. Johnson

MEASURE:

SB 88 A

Revenue: No revenue impact Fiscal: Fiscal statement issued

Action: Do Pass the A-Eng Bill.

Vote: 15 - 6 - 1

<u>House</u>

Yeas: Buckley, C. Edwards, D. Edwards, Galizio, Gilman, Jenson, Kotek

Nays: Garrard, Nathanson, Richardson, Shields, G. Smith

Exc: Senate

Yeas: Bates, Carter, Johnson, Monroe, Nelson, Verger, Walker, Whitsett

Nays: Girod Exc: Winters

Prepared By: Doug Wilson **Meeting Date:** 6/22, 6/23

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Increases license, renewal, and per-customer fees of nonretail fuel facilities beginning July 1, 2009. Reduces minimum annual purchase from current 900 gallons to 500 gallons. Reduces annual audit requirement from five percent of facilities to 2.5 percent of facilities. Declares an emergency, effective upon passage.

SB 88-A modifies facility license and customer fees in two steps during the 2009-11 biennium. The facility license application and facility license renewal fee is increased from \$250 to \$300, and the annual per-customer fee is increased from \$5 to \$7.50 (beginning on July 1, 2009) to \$10 (beginning on July 1, 2010).

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

• Decrease of the minimum annual purchase from the current 900 gallons to 500 gallons.

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: No amendment.

BACKGROUND: The nonretail fuel ("cardlock") program, regulated by the Office of State Fire Marshal within the Department of State Police, authorizes qualified customers to dispense gasoline at licensed cardlock facilities. According to the Office of State Fire Marshal, SB 88-A ensures continued direct services to cardlock facilities, such as records and facility inspections, by increasing funding to avoid an imminent budget shortfall in the 2009-11 biennium. The agency states that the fee increases in SB 88-A, the first since the inception of the cardlock program in 1992, have the support of an Office of State Fire Marshal cardlock advisory committee.