## 75th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - 2009 Regular Session MEASURE: HJR 40 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER: Rep. Cannon

**House Committee on Environment and Water** 

**REVENUE:** No revenue impact **FISCAL:** No fiscal impact

**Action:** Be Adopted as Amended and Be Printed Engrossed

**Vote:** 7 - 0 - 1

Yeas: Bailey, Barnhart, Bentz, Gilliam, Jenson, Smith J., Cannon

Nays: 0 Exc.: Boone

**Prepared By:** Beth Patrino, Administrator

Meeting Dates: 4/2

**WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:** Recognizes Jane Lubchenco for contributions to marine biology and understanding of climate change, and for service to Oregon.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Dr. Lubchenco's confirmation as the Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
- Her 28 years of service at Oregon State University

## **EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT:** Replaces the measure.

BACKGROUND: On March 19, 2009, Jane Lubchenco was confirmed by the United States Senate as the new Under Secretary of Commerce and Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the nation's top science agency for climate, oceans, and the atmosphere. Dr. Lubchenco has been at Oregon State University for the past 28 years where she has been an environmental scientist and marine ecologist who has been actively engaged in teaching, research, synthesis and communication of scientific knowledge. She is a former president of the International Council for Science, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Ecological Society of America. She was a presidential-appointee for two terms on the National Science Board, which advises the president and Congress and oversees the National Science Foundation. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the Royal Society, and the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World. She has also served on the Pew Oceans Commission and the Joint Oceans Commission Initiative.

Dr. Lubchenco has received numerous awards including a MacArthur ("Genius") Fellowship, nine honorary degrees, the 2002 Heinz Award in the Environment, the 2003 Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest, the 2004 Environmental Law Institute Award and the 2005 American Association for the Advancement of Science's Award for Public Understanding of Science and Technology.