Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 24

Sponsored by Senator COURTNEY; Senator WALKER, Representative WITT (Presession filed.)

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay was founded in 1982 by Oregon resident Robert Foote; and Whereas during that first race eight teams participated; and

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay has since created such high demand for team entry that race participation is now capped at 1000 teams per year and a lottery system is used to select entries; and

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay annually brings thousands of participants and spectators from all over the world to Oregon; and

Whereas 2007 registration included participants from 49 states and 35 foreign countries; and

Whereas since the creation of the Hood To Coast Relay, Robert Foote created two sister events that take place simultaneously and share the same course as the Hood To Coast Relay; and

Whereas these two sister events are the Portland To Coast Walk Relay, founded in 1990, and the Portland To Coast High School Challenge Relay, founded in 1997; and

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay and sister events together bring out 17,400 runners and walkers for the relay weekend; and

Whereas the event serves to educate runners and walkers about cancer prevention and to raise funds for the American Cancer Society; and

Whereas the 2007 event raised \$224,000 for the fight against cancer; and

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay has been named the world's largest relay by the Guinness Book of World Records; and

Whereas the Hood To Coast Relay was crowned the "Mother of All Relays" by the national magazine "Runner's World"; and

Whereas the 2008 Hood To Coast Relay will mark the 27th annual running of the event on August 22 and 23, 2008; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-fourth Legislative Assembly, in special legislative session assembled, express our support for the Hood To Coast Relay as a commendable example of Oregon's values and as a beautiful introduction to this state for thousands of new visitors.

Adopted by Senate February 13, 2008

Secretary of Senate

President of Senate

Adopted by House February 21, 2008

Speaker of House