Enrolled

Senate Joint Resolution 20

Sponsored by Senators MONNES ANDERSON, NELSON (at the request of Oregon Telecommunications Coordinating Council)

Whereas health care telecommunications networks in Oregon are not able to seamlessly interconnect with each other; and

Whereas it is becoming increasingly important to move health information, not patients; and

Whereas the health care and education communities are jointly involved in health care workforce education; and

Whereas health care and education telecommunications networks in Oregon are not able to seamlessly interconnect with each other; and

Whereas there is a need for quality of service levels for all health care and education networks in Oregon; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

The members of the Seventy-fourth Legislative Assembly:

- (1) Declare that it is the policy of the State of Oregon to promote and facilitate activities by Oregon's health care and education communities and their telecommunications providers to develop a network model that provides standards for interoperability, establishes a peering point for all health care and education telecommunications in Oregon and establishes peering agreements among health care and education networks that contain payment structures.
- (2) Encourage the Oregon Telecommunications Coordinating Council Health-Education Committee, in collaboration with the Telehealth Alliance of Oregon, to:
- (a) Work with the health care and education communities and telecommunications providers to develop a telecommunications network model consistent with policy adopted in this resolution;
- (b) Report biennially to the Legislative Assembly on progress in developing a telecommunications network model consistent with policy adopted in this resolution; and
- (c) Propose any legislation necessary to implement a telecommunications network model consistent with policy adopted in this resolution.

Adopted by Senate March 5, 2007
Secretary of Senate
President of Senate
Adopted by House April 16, 2007
Speaker of House