## Enrolled Senate Joint Memorial 12

Sponsored by Senator AVAKIAN; Representative KOMP

To the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Seventy-fourth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas Congress enacted and the President signed into law the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB), which has as its announced purposes the establishment of high academic standards in reading, math and science and the implementation of test-based accountability for achievement of those standards at schools that do not have accountability; and

Whereas a stated goal of NCLB is to provide flexibility for states to improve academic achievement; and

Whereas NCLB contains expensive mandates that Congress has not sufficiently funded and the law's voluminous computerized record-keeping requirements will cost Oregon literally millions of dollars that the state does not have, yet is obligated to spend in order to meet the requirements; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Congress of the United States is respectfully requested to immediately amend the No Child Left Behind Act to include a mechanism for a waiver from its provisions for school accountability that shall automatically be granted to states such as Oregon that have high student achievement and to exempt states from any of its provisions that are not adequately federally funded, without such exemption relating to a loss of any federal funds currently granted to the state in question.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the Senate Majority Leader and the Secretary of the United States Senate, the Speaker and the Clerk of the United States House of Representatives and each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by Senate April 18, 2007
Readopted by Senate May 31, 2007
Secretary of Senate
Secretary of Schare
President of Senate
Adopted by House May 25, 2007
Speaker of House