## **A-Engrossed**

# **Senate Concurrent Resolution 3**

Ordered by the Senate February 2 Including Senate Amendments dated February 2

Sponsored by Senator MORSE, Representative GELSER; Senators AVAKIAN, BEYER, CARTER, L GEORGE, VERGER, Representatives BOQUIST, CAMERON, CLEM, C EDWARDS, GIROD, MAURER

#### **SUMMARY**

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure.

Commends 2006 national champion Oregon State University Beavers baseball team for outstanding season.

#### CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Whereas during the 2006 college baseball season, the Oregon State University Beavers capped a regular season win-loss record of 39-14 by going on to sweep the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) regional playoffs with wins over Wright State, Kansas and Hawaii, outscoring their opponents by a combined run total of 28 to 9; and

Whereas the Beavers then defeated Stanford in the NCAA Super Regional playoffs and went on to enter the NCAA College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska, for the second time in as many years; and

Whereas the Beavers bounced back from a first-game loss in the College World Series with victories over the University of Georgia Bulldogs, the University of Miami Hurricanes, the Rice University Owls and finally, after losing the first game of the three-game championship series to the University of North Carolina Tarheels, swept the Tarheels in the next two games; and

Whereas the Oregon State University Beavers are the first baseball team from the Pacific Northwest to win the national title; and

Whereas an impressive number of the players on the 2006 team hail from Oregon hometowns, including Erik Ammon, Darwin Barney, Dallas Buck, Bryn Card, Brett Casey, Corey Ellis, Derek Engelke, Josh Forgue, Cole Gillespie (PAC-10 Baseball Player of the Year), Ryan Gipson, Mark Grbavac, Kevin Gunderson, Greg Keim, Chris Kunda (PAC-10 Defensive Player of the Year), Eddie Kunz, Joey Lakowske, Greg Laybourn, Mike Lissman, Jonah Nickerson (College World Series Most Outstanding Player), Joe Paterson, Bill Rowe, Mike Stutes, Rob Summers, Daniel Turpen and Geoff Wagner; and

Whereas Oregon State head baseball coach Pat Casey was named National Coach of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association; and

Whereas the Oregon State University baseball team and coaching staff exhibited outstanding character both on and off the field and earned the respect and support of the State of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest and the nation for their determination, passion and sportsmanship; now, therefore,

### Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-fourth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary

1 2

3

4

5 6

7

8

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

2021

22

23 24

25

2627

28

## A-Eng. SCR 3

- 1 intercollegiate athletic achievements of the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I na-
- 2 tional baseball champions, the Oregon State University Beavers.

3