## HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS TO A-ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 193

By COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND LABOR

May 23

On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 4, after the semicolon insert "repealing section 1 2 10, chapter \_\_\_\_\_, Oregon Laws 2007 (Enrolled House Bill 2219);". On page 15, after line 2, insert: 3 "SECTION 13a. If House Bill 2219 becomes law, section 10, chapter \_\_\_\_\_, Oregon Laws 4  $\mathbf{5}$ 2007 (Enrolled House Bill 2219) (amending ORS 480.630), is repealed and ORS 480.630, as 6 amended by section 13 of this 2007 Act, is amended to read: 7 "480.630. (1) A person engaging in the business of installing, repairing or altering boilers or pressure vessels must possess a boiler contractor license issued by the Department of Consumer and 8 9 **Business Services.** 10 "(2) A person who installs, repairs or alters boilers or pressure vessels as the employee or agent 11 of a business engaged in the installation, repair or alteration of boilers or pressure vessels must 12 possess an employee or agent license issued by the department. 13 "(3) The chief inspector may conduct examinations for licensing an employee or agent of a 14 business to establish the competency of the applicant. 15"[(4) The department shall issue and renew licenses as provided by rules adopted under ORS 16 455.117 by the Board of Boiler Rules upon payment of a fee of \$25 for each application for an employee 17 or agent license and \$150 for each application for a boiler contractor license.] 18 (4) Upon payment of the applicable application fee, the department shall issue a license to an applicant who qualifies as provided in rules adopted under ORS 455.117 by the Board 19 20 of Boiler Rules. Upon payment of the applicable renewal application fee, the department shall 21renew the license of a person who complies with ORS 480.510 to 480.670 and the rules adopted 22by the board under ORS 455.117 or 480.545. The fee to apply for or renew a license is: 23 "(a) \$25 per year for an employee or agent license. 24 "(b) \$150 per year for a boiler contractor license. 25"(5) A person required to be licensed under this section may not install, alter or repair a boiler 26or pressure vessel unless an install, alter or repair permit is first secured from the department. 27Permits shall be issued only to persons possessing a valid boiler contractor license or as provided 28by the department by rule. An install, alter or repair permit fee of \$15 shall be paid directly to the 29department. 30 "(6) If an emergency exists, a permit under subsection (5) of this section is not required in ad-31 vance for boiler or pressure vessel installations or repair, provided that an application accompanied 32by the appropriate fee for the permit is submitted to the department within five days after the 33 commencing of the boiler or pressure vessel work.

34 "(7) The license and examination requirements of this section and ORS 480.632 do not apply 35 when a person is brought in from out of state to repair or alter a boiler or pressure vessel utilizing special tools or a special process for which that person is uniquely qualified. The activity shall be limited solely to the special process and the person performing the work shall have qualifications that meet or exceed license standards as determined by the chief boiler inspector. The chief boiler inspector shall be notified prior to performance of any work under this subsection.

5 "(8) If a license issued under subsection (4) of this section is of a class that authorizes a person 6 to perform work equivalent to that performed by pressure vessel installers, building service me-7 chanics, boilermakers or pressure piping mechanics, the person must [complete eight hours of 8 board-approved continuing education every year] comply with continuing education 9 requirements.

"<u>SECTION 13b.</u> If House Bill 2219 becomes law, the amendments to ORS 480.630 by sec tion 13a of this 2007 Act become operative on January 1, 2008.".

12