House Bill 2976

Sponsored by Representative BOQUIST

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure as introduced.

Directs Department of Justice to distribute moneys to local governments and agencies for specific purposes related to methamphetamine.

Appropriates moneys from General Fund to Department of Justice for purposes of Act. Declares emergency, effective July 1, 2007.

A BILL FOR AN ACT

2 Relating to methamphetamine; appropriating money; and declaring an emergency.

3 Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) The Department of Justice shall distribute the moneys appropriated to 4

 $\mathbf{5}$ it under section 2 of this 2007 Act as specified in subsections (3) to (9) of this section. The

6 department shall distribute one-half of the amount specified for each grant in subsections

7 (3) to (9) of this section by August 1, 2007, and the other half no later than July 1, 2008.

- 8 (2) Each recipient of moneys distributed under subsections (3) to (9) of this section shall
- 9 file a single-page performance report regarding the use of the moneys with the Department
- 10 of Justice no later than July 31, 2008, and July 31, 2009. The department shall collect the

11 reports and submit copies of the reports to an interim legislative committee dealing with the

12judiciary no later than August 31, 2008, and August 31, 2009.

13(3) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the sheriffs' de-14 partments of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine prevention and law enforcement activities as determined by the sheriff: 15

(a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas, Washington, 16 17 Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.

- 18 (b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln Counties.
- (c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco, 19

20 Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.

21

1

22(4) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the sheriffs' de-23 partments of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine prevention and educa-24 tion activities as determined by the sheriff:

- 25(a) \$100,000 to Multnomah County.
- 26 (b) \$50,000 each to Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas and Washington Counties.
- 27 (c) \$20,000 each to Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.
- 28(d) \$10,000 each to Douglas, Lincoln, Baker, Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow,
- 29 Crook, Columbia, Wasco, Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman,
- 30 Lake, Jefferson, Harney, Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.

HB 2976

1 (5) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the following 2 cities to be used for methamphetamine prevention, education and law enforcement activities 3 as determined by the city council upon the recommendation of the chief of police or senior 4 law enforcement official of the city:

5 (a) \$300,000 to Portland.

(b) \$150,000 each to Fairview, Gresham, Troutdale, Wood Village, Hermiston, MiltonFreewater, Pendleton, Albany, Harrisburg, Lebanon, Cottage Grove, Eugene, Florence,
Springfield, Canby, Gladstone, Lake Oswego, Milwaukie, Oregon City, Tualatin, West Linn,
Wilsonville, Beaverton, Cornelius, Forest Grove, Hillsboro, Sherwood, Tigard, Grants Pass,
Ashland, Central Point, Medford, Roseburg, Newport, Keizer, Salem, Woodburn, Baker City,
Bend, Redmond, Coos Bay, North Bend, McMinnville, Newberg, Klamath Falls, Prineville, St.
Helens, The Dalles, Dallas, Monmouth, Ontario, Hood River, Astoria and Corvallis.

(c) \$100,000 each to Mill City, Sweet Home, Molalla, Sandy, Lincoln City, Silverton,
 Stayton and Scappoose.

(6)(a) The Department of Justice shall distribute \$75,000 to the cities listed in paragraph (b) of this subsection to be used for methamphetamine prevention, education and law enforcement activities as determined by the city council upon the recommendation of the chief of police or senior law enforcement official of the city and in coordination with the sheriff of the county in which the city is located.

(b) The cities to which paragraph (a) of this subsection applies are Athena, Pilot Rock, 20Stanfield, Umatilla, Brownsville, Lyons, Creswell, Junction City, Oakridge, Veneta, Estacada, 2122Happy Valley, Eagle Point, Jacksonville, Phoenix, Rogue River, Shady Cove, Talent, Myrtle 23Creek, Reedsport, Sutherlin, Winston, Toledo, Waldport, Aumsville, Gervais, Hubbard, Jefferson, Mt. Angel, Sublimity, Bandon, Coquille, Dundee, Lafayette, Sheridan, Willamina, 24 25La Grande, Union, Boardman, Irrigon, Vernonia, Enterprise, Independence, Nyssa, Vale, Tillamook, Lakeview, Madras, Burns, John Day, Brookings, Gold Beach, Seaside, Warrenton, 2627Philomath and Monroe.

(7) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the district at torneys of the following counties to be used for methamphetamine prosecution and judicial
 activities as determined by the district attorney:

(a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Washington, Josephine, Jackson,
 Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill Counties.

33

(b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln Counties.

(c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco,
 Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney,
 Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton Counties.

(8) The Department of Justice shall distribute \$300,000 to Clackamas County to be used
 for methamphetamine prosecution and judicial activities as determined by the board of
 county commissioners in consultation with the district attorney and the sheriff.

(9) The Department of Justice shall distribute the following amounts to the following
counties to be used for methamphetamine treatment activities as determined by the governing body of each county:

(a) \$300,000 each to Multnomah, Umatilla, Linn, Lane, Clackamas, Washington,
Josephine, Jackson, Marion, Baker, Deschutes and Yamhill.

45 (b) \$200,000 each to Douglas and Lincoln.

HB 2976

1 (c) \$150,000 each to Coos, Klamath, Gilliam, Union, Morrow, Crook, Columbia, Wasco,

2 Wallowa, Polk, Malheur, Hood River, Wheeler, Tillamook, Sherman, Lake, Jefferson, Harney,

3 Grant, Curry, Clatsop and Benton.

4 <u>SECTION 2.</u> There is appropriated to the Department of Justice, for the biennium be-5 ginning July 1, 2007, out of the General Fund, the amount of \$36 million for the purpose of 6 carrying out the provisions of section 1 of this 2007 Act.

7 <u>SECTION 3.</u> This 2007 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public 8 peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2007 Act takes effect 9 July 1, 2007.

10