74th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2007 Regular Session

Enrolled House Bill 2258

Ordered printed by the Speaker pursuant to House Rule 12.00A (5). Presession filed (at the request of Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries Dan Gardner)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to payment of wages on regular paydays; amending ORS 652.120.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 652.120 is amended to read:

652.120. (1) Every employer shall establish and maintain a regular payday, at which date **the employer shall pay** all employees [*shall be paid*] the wages due and owing to them.

(2) Payday [*shall*] **may** not extend beyond a period of 35 days from the time that [*such*] **the** employees entered upon their work, or from the date of the last regular payday.

(3) This section does not prevent the employer from establishing and maintaining paydays at more frequent intervals.

(4) This section does not prevent any employer from entering into a written agreement, prior to the rendering of any services, and mutually satisfactory with the employer's employees, as to the payment of wages at a future date.

(5) When an employer has notice that an employee has not been paid the full amount the employee is owed on a regular payday and there is no dispute between the employer and the employee regarding the amount of the unpaid wages:

(a) If the unpaid amount is less than five percent of the employee's gross wages due on the regular payday, the employer shall pay the employee the unpaid amount no later than the next regular payday; or

(b) If the unpaid amount is five percent or more of the employee's gross wages due on the regular payday, the employer shall pay the employee the unpaid amount within three days after the employer has notice of the unpaid amount, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

Passed by House March 21, 2007	Received by Governor:
Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate May 31, 2007	Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
President of Senate	
	Secretary of State