74th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - 2007 Regular Session MEASURE: HB 2066 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY CARRIER: Rep. Lim

House Committee on Government Accountability and Information Technology

REVENUE: No revenue impact

FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact, no statement issued

Action: Do Pass as Amended and Be Printed Engrossed and Rescind the Subsequent Referral

to the Committee on Ways and Means

Vote: 5 - 0 - 0

Yeas: Beyer, Edwards C., Girod, Thatcher, Riley

Nays: 0 **Exc.:** 0

Prepared By: Patrick Brennan, Administrator

Meeting Dates: 2/1, 2/15

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES: Creates the Sister State Committee. Deletes the requirement that the Speaker of the House and President of the Senate serve as co-chairs of the Sister State Committee and directs the committee to establish membership criteria for certain members. Deletes the requirement that the Sister State Committee visit sister states on a biennial basis. Establishes in statute the Fujian Sister State Committee.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Duties performed by Sister State Committee
- Advantages of maintaining current Fujian Sister State Committee separate from new committee
- Potential for enhancing existing sister state relationships and developing new sister state relationships
- Funding sources for sister state committee activities

EFFECT OF COMMITTEE AMENDMENT: Establishes in statute the Fujian Sister State Committee as a separate entity from the Sister State Committee. Maintains current sister state committee membership requirements for the Fujian Sister State Committee.

BACKGROUND: Senate Bill 16 (2001) provided for the establishment of sister state committees to interact in sister state relationships. Oregon currently has sister state relationships with four states: Fujian Province, People's Republic of China (1984); Taiwan Provincial Government, Republic of China (1985); Toyama Prefecture, Japan (1991); and Jeollanam-do Province, Republic of Korea (1996). The Legislative Assembly itself also maintains a sister relationship with Honduras (1991) and the Parliament of the German State of Lower Saxony (1991). Sister state committees are authorized to host visiting delegations from the sister state, participate in delegations to the sister state, provide for the exchange of information, and work jointly on projects.

Currently, there is only one active sister state committee, the Fujian Sister State Committee, comprised of 19 members, including the Senate President and House Speaker as co-chairs. Naming committees for the other sister states would require 57 additional appointments, and would be a significant time imposition on the Speaker and President.

House Bill 2066-A provides for a single 19-member Sister State Committee that would be charged with fulfilling the duties proscribed to sister state committees. Consisting of two co-chairs, one each appointed by the House Speaker and Senate President, and of two Senators and two State Representatives of different parties, the committee would establish criteria for appointing up to 15 additional members, who would be selected jointly by the Speaker and President. The measure also deletes the requirement that the Sister State Committee visit each sister state every two years. Finally, House Bill 2066-A establishes the Fujian Sister State Committee in statute as separate from the Sister State Committee, maintaining its current membership requirements.