## REVENUE IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

74th Oregon Legislative Assembly 2007 Legislative Revenue Office Bill Number: HB 2034

**Revenue Area:** Transportation **Economist:** Mazen Malik **Date:** 01-26-2007

## **Measure Description:**

Specifies time window for acquiring Oregon car title, car registration, driver license and driver permit for new resident of Oregon to less than 30 days.

**Revenue Impact:** Minimum impact (Less than \$50,000)

Increase revenue in both the Highway fund, and Criminal Fines and Assessment Account (CFAA), by very small amounts.

## **Impact Explanation:**

Currently, ORS 807.062(2), states that a resident of Oregon may not operate a motor vehicle in this state unless the person receives a driver license or permit from the Oregon Department of Transportation. Similarly, a person commits the offense of failure to register a vehicle if the person owns a vehicle in this state and does not register it with the Oregon Department of Transportation (ORS 803.300).

The new time limit definition, for vehicles and driver licenses, as it applies to new residents, will allow for increased enforcement and fines by law enforcement agencies. This will also somewhat accelerate the process of registering vehicles for new residents as well as increase the rate of exchanging their driver licenses.

State Capitol Building 900 Court St NE, Room H-197 Salem, OR 97301-1347

LRO: 2/3/2007 3:26:36 PM

Phone: 503-986-1266 Fax: 503-986-1770 http://www.leg.state.or.us