Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 209

Sponsored by Senator WINTERS; Senators ATKINSON, BATES, BEYER, BOQUIST, BURDICK, COURTNEY, DEVLIN, DINGFELDER, EDWARDS, FERRIOLI, GEORGE, GIROD, HASS, JOHNSON, KRUSE, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, MORSE, NELSON, OLSEN, PROZANSKI, ROSENBAUM, SHIELDS, STARR, STEINER HAYWARD, TELFER, THOMSEN, VERGER, WHITSETT, Representatives BERGER, CAMERON, CLEM

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer of Salem, Oregon, won the United States Golf Association's Senior Women's Amateur Championship on September 15, 2011, defeating heavily favored defending champion Mina Hardin of Fort Worth, Texas, and bringing the Senior Women's Amateur golf title to Oregon for the first time in the event's 50-year history; and

Whereas that victory marks the culmination of a long history of success playing the game of golf; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer began playing golf when she was 13 years old at the urging of her mother, Shirley Thoreson, who enjoyed playing golf competitively; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer, while attending Mount Si High School, played on the boys' golf team because the school did not have a girls' golf team at that time; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer demonstrated great acumen for golf, playing in the 1973 United States Girls' Junior tournament, where she lost in the second round to future World Golf Hall of Fame member Betsy King, and winning the 1972 Washington State Women's Public Links tournament and the 1974 Pacific Northwest Golf Association's Women's Amateur tournament; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer's success playing golf led to her receiving scholarship offers from the University of Miami, Arizona State University and Rollins College in Winter Park, Florida; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer, after choosing to attend Rollins College for its balanced approach to athletics and academics, was a top performer for the Rollins College Women's Golf Team, which competed for the 1978 Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women Golf Championship; and

Whereas after college, Terri Jean Frohnmayer demonstrated the same vision and capacity for business and public service that she had demonstrated for golf; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer at one time owned three car washes and a mail order company that sold automotive accessories; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer has been a successful broker and real estate investor, contributing to the development of Center 50+ for the City of Salem, among other high-profile projects; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer has served on a variety of boards and commissions, including as president of the Salem Area Chamber of Commerce; and

Whereas after not picking up a golf club for 24 years, Terri Jean Frohnmayer, at the urging of her mother and her husband, Bill, returned to golf to see whether she could attain the same level of expertise she had achieved at college; and

Whereas Terri Jean Frohnmayer subsequently played in several tournaments, including the 2008, 2009 and 2010 Pacific Northwest Golf Association's Senior Women's Amateur tournaments, winning the 2010 tournament by nine strokes; and

Whereas after Terri Jean Frohnmayer won the United States Golf Association's Senior Women's Amateur Championship, she was named the 2011 Senior Women's Player of the Year by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association and the 2011 Golfer of the Year by the Oregon Golf Association; and

Whereas the Marion County Board of Commissioners recognized the accomplishments of Terri Jean Frohnmayer by designating September 28, 2011, "Terri Frohnmayer Day" in recognition of her outstanding success as a golfer and generous contributions to community service; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor the achievements of Terri Jean Frohnmayer; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to Terri Jean Frohnmayer.

| Adopted by Senate February 24, 2012 |
|-------------------------------------|
| Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate |
| Peter Courtney, President of Senate |
| Adopted by House February 28, 2012 |
| Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House |
| Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House |