Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 201

Sponsored by Senator BEYER; Senators EDWARDS, PROZANSKI, VERGER, Representatives BARNHART, BEYER, COWAN, HANNA, HOLVEY, HOYLE, NATHANSON, ROBLAN (Presession filed.)

Whereas Eugene Police Officer Chris Kilcullen was born and raised in Eugene; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen graduated from Willamette High School in Eugene and earned a sociology and psychology degree from the University of Oregon; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen joined the Eugene Police Department in 1998; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was a hardworking, dedicated law enforcement officer who loved serving with the Eugene Police Department; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was integral in the creation of the Eugene Police Department's Crisis Intervention Team in 2008 and served on the Crisis Negotiation Team; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen earned more than 85 commendations, including twice being named the Eugene Police Department Employee of the Month; and

Whereas the commendations awarded to Officer Kilcullen repeatedly cited his exemplary professional demeanor and positive interactions with the public he served, even in the most stressful circumstances; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was killed in the line of duty on April 22, 2011, when he was shot and killed during a vehicle pursuit; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was an outstanding Eugene police officer and exemplary public servant; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was a dedicated community volunteer; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was a devoted husband and loving father of two daughters; and

Whereas Officer Kilcullen was a remarkably and unfailingly kind, cheerful, thoughtful and giving person; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Officer Chris Kilcullen for his service to this state.

Adopted by Senate February 13, 2012
Robert Taylor, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House February 20, 2012
Bruce Hanna, Speaker of House
Arnie Roblan, Speaker of House