A-Engrossed

House Concurrent Resolution 204

Ordered by the House February 3 Including House Amendments dated February 3

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Rules)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure.

Commemorates victory by University of Oregon's football program in 2012 Rose Bowl and other athletic, academic and public service achievements by 2011 University of Oregon football team.

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Whereas the 2011 University of Oregon football team concluded one of the top seasons in the sport of football in this state by winning the 2012 Rose Bowl, arguably the most significant victory by the University of Oregon football program in its storied 118-year history; and

Whereas that win resulted in the 2011 University of Oregon football team being crowned champions of the 2012 Rose Bowl, the second such crowning for the University of Oregon football team in the 110-year history of the Rose Bowl, and the first such crowning for the University of Oregon football program since 1917; and

Whereas by sending a team to play in the 98th Rose Bowl, the University of Oregon was represented in a Bowl Championship Series game for three consecutive years, the only university in the country to achieve that distinction in 2011; and

Whereas the University of Oregon football program was the only Football Bowl Subdivision program to earn a top five ranking in each of the past two seasons; and

Whereas the University of Oregon football program was one of just two Football Bowl Subdivision programs to earn a top 25 ranking in each of the past five seasons; and

Whereas the 2011 University of Oregon football team won the inaugural Pacific-12 Conference Football Championship Game on December 2, 2011; and

Whereas by virtue of that win, the University of Oregon football program received its third consecutive outright conference football title; and

Whereas the University of Oregon football program is just the third football program in the Pacific Conference to win three consecutive outright conference football championships since the conference expanded to 10 teams in 1978; and

Whereas LaMichael James, running back for the 2011 University of Oregon football team, became the first two-time consensus All-American in the university's history, led all Football Bowl Subdivision players in yards rushed per game for the 2011 season and established many University of Oregon records for rushing yards in a season and career; and

Whereas Freshman All-American and all-purpose standout De'Anthony Thomas led all Football

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

9

10 11

12

13

14

15 16

17

18

19

20

21

22 23

24

25

26 27 Bowl Subdivision freshmen in scoring touchdowns and, with a 91-yard run, set a Rose Bowl record for longest run from scrimmage; and

Whereas Darron Thomas, quarterback for the 2011 University of Oregon football team, led his teammates to the 2012 Rose Bowl with 2,700 passing yards, 33 passing touchdowns and just seven interceptions for the season; and

Whereas Carson York, offensive lineman for the 2011 University of Oregon football team, earned the honor of being selected as the university's 84th member of the Academic All-America team; and

Whereas tight end David Paulson and offensive linemen Mark Asper and Carson York earned the honor of being selected to the Pacific-12 Conference's All-Academic First Team for the sport of football; and

Whereas wide receiver Justin Hoffman and defensive tackle Taylor Hart earned the honor of being selected to the Pacific-12 Conference's All-Academic Second Team for the sport of football; and

Whereas wide receiver Daryle Hawkins, placekicker Alejandro Maldonado, punter Jackson Rice, tight end Nick Musgrove, defensive end Tony Washington and linebackers Michael Clay, Keloni Kamalani and Derrick Malone were honorably mentioned as considerations for those teams; and

Whereas the 2011 University of Oregon football team had more selections and honorably mentioned considerations for the Pacific-12 Conference's All-Academic First and Second Teams than any other Pacific-12 football team in 2011; and

Whereas every member of the 2011 University of Oregon football team participated in public service projects organized by and through the university's athletic department; and

Whereas those players took part in a variety of public services, including visiting schools and hospitals, hosting educational workshops, raising money for the homeless, signing and sending footballs to young people afflicted with cancer and being pen pals with active duty United States military service personnel; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-sixth Legislative Assembly, recognize and celebrate the athletic, academic and public service achievements of the 2011 University of Oregon football team and the recent years of success of the University of Oregon football program; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution be presented to University of Oregon head football coach Chip Kelly.